Sugar scrub (Oil-free)

I love scrubs.  A lot.  I wanted to  try my hand at making a sugar scrub, but ones with oil dripping out creep me out.  On top of that, I’m a 30 year old with acne & rather sensitive skin, so I’m not really keen on rubbing oil all over me.  I also wanted to use things I already had, since I was anxious to try it NOW.  Of course I searched online, and most had oil, and the few that didn’t had things I didn’t have or didn’t know where to buy (vegetable glycerin).  I did discover that the beauty of these is you can add most anything beneficial that you like, so I tried this:

In a old store-bought scrub jar I  mixed 2 parts white sugar, 1 part brown sugar (I did 2/3 cup & 1/3 cup), then I added what little honey I had left in the bottle (several TBSP.)  It’s a good moisturizer & has some antibacterial properties.  I mixed in some 100% aloe gel I had around to treat sunburn., probably 1-2 TBSP.)  Really, I played with the quantities til I liked the consistency.  You can always add a little water if you choose, maybe some extract or essential oils, for a nice scent.

After mixing it together, I liked it, but I decided to add a little scoop of ground coffee.  I was intrigued by scrubs with this, and the caffeine and antioxidants in it are good for toning & energizing the skin.  According to CancerLynx.com “Coffee is granular and feels nice on the skin but the caffeine has added benefits. Applied topically coffee helps to redistribute fat cells and decrease the formation of cellulite. It also acts as a vasorestrictor, tightening and shrinking blood vessels thereby helping eliminate varicose veins.”  Certainly worth a shot, right?

I am off to test drive it on the rest of my body, but my elbows (test area) feel amazing.

Don’t forget to lotion afterwards!  Happy scrubbing 🙂

This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

